21st July 2018

South of Scotland Car Club

Event Report

The Maximum Attack Autotest moved south of the border to a new site at Maryport in Cumbria courtesy of Wigton Motor Club for the 8th round of the BTRDA Autotest Championship supported by Demon Tweeks. Rain and standing water greeted the competitors to the event organised by South of Scotland Car Club, where just two tests were laid out, each to be attempted eight times during the day. After the first two rounds Malcolm Livingston (Lindsay Special 1600) had a slender 2 second lead over Dave Mosey (Mini Special 1430), with Richard Pinkney (Caterham Seven 1600) a further 7 seconds back having collected a 5 second penalty on the very first test and Ian Chapman (Riot 1700) just 1 second behind. Warren Gillespie (Nova 1600) was a clear leader in the saloon car class, with both Mark Thornton (Nova 1800) and Tom Coverdale (Nova 1800) having collected several penalties on the first four tests.

The lunchtime scoreboard saw several changes at the top. Malcolm Livingston was still leading, but only by 7 seconds from Richard Pinkney, both of them having collected one 5 second, whilst Dave Mosey had collected two penalties and was now only 1 second ahead of Steve Morten (RAW Striker 1800). Dave Evans (Blitz Special 2000) and Chris Chapman (RAW Striker 1700) were just 4 seconds behind Morten. Warren Gillespie (Nova 1600) was now leading the saloon car class by 53 seconds from Mark Thornton, with Tom Coverdale having retired from the competition.

The 8 afternoon tests saw Warren Gillespie increase his lead in the saloon car class to 100 seconds over Mark Thornton, with Toby Cook (Micra 1300) just taking 3rd place in the class from Jack Palmer by 1 second. The sports car class saw Pinkney collect a maximum penalty to allow Chris Chapman to win by 8 seconds, with Ian Chapman recovering to third in class, beating Steve Morten by 4 seconds. The specials class remained in the lunchtime order, with Livingston easing to a 9 second win over Mosey, with Evans a further 24 seconds behind.

Event Details

Results for the 8th Round of the BTRDA Autotest Championship can now be downloaded.



Latest News

  • 9th April 2020

    Dick Squire

  • 10th March 2020

    2020 BTRDA Autotest Championship



© 2020 BTRDA® Ltd. The Barn, Holly Berry House, Rough Park, Rugeley, WS15 3SQ. Registered in England & Wales No. 4185808. VAT number: 834 8460 11