26th March 2017

Presidents Trophy

Event Report

Wilks finally does it.

Presidents Sporting Trial
Southsea Motor Club

19 starters

Andy Wilks finally won his first Reis BTRDA Sporting trial on Sunday at the Presidents having lost two events this month on a tie break. John Fack led initially after the first round of dry hills that proved slippery underneath but Wilks with a superb second round took the lead which he held on to. Last years winner Julian Fack proved to be his nearest challenger five points further back from Simon Kingsley.

Star drive of the day had to be local Phil Haines who tied with Kingsley, as a clubman, driving his live axle Facksimile in fourth overall. Richard Sharp made the long trip from Yorkshire too to claim fifth.

Paul Price beat John Fack on a tiebreak with one more zero for sixth ahead of Alan Baker. Baker won the new intermediate class in the live axle class, with David Zank winning the intermediate class in the independent class from Colin Flashman who was just outside the top ten overall.

Stuart Beare won the live axle class in the expert class in twelve overall, while Phil Blagden finished best rookie.

This is sure to be the first of many overall wins for Wilks in his Crossle and proved very popular after eleven years of trialling taking the lead in the British championship and Reis ASWMC championship.


  1.     Andy Wilks, Crossle, 31
  2.     Julian Fack, Crossle, 36
  3.     Simon Kingsley, Crossle, 39
  4.     Phil Haines, Facksimile, 39
  5.     Richard Sharp, Cartright, 45
  6.     Paul Price, CAP, 51
  7.     John Fack, MSR, 51
  8.     Alan Baker, Apex, 54
  9.     George Watson, Hamilton, 56
  10.     David Zank, Sherpa Indy, 59


Event Images

Event Details

Report available


Latest News

  • 16th May 2020

    The Clear Round E-Newsletter

  • 22nd January 2020

    Calling all Post Historic Trialers



© 2020 BTRDA® Ltd. The Barn, Holly Berry House, Rough Park, Rugeley, WS15 3SQ. Registered in England & Wales No. 4185808. VAT number: 834 8460 11