12th January 2013

2012 Gold Star Final

Event Report

Duncan Stephens won the BTRDA Sporting trials gold star on Saturday by winning the final in North Cornwall, regaining the title he last won in 2006. Stephens competed with his sixth different passenger of the year, and used local farmer James Tancock's brawn to bounce them to the Gold Star in extremely tough conditions.

Landowner Roland Uglow led after the first round of ten hills which almost immediately saw engines revving to their maximum by a single point from Julian Fack. Uglow slipped back to sixth by the end of the day as conditions deteriorated and making a couple of mistakes.

By the end of the second round Stephens had taken the lead in his Crossle with some hard attacking of hills with plenty of speed. Multiple British champion Ian Bell, who has yet to win the Gold Star, had the best round to move up from fifth to second.

The third and final round saw the lead change back and forth between Stephens and Bell both driving absolutely flat out asking everything of their engines and cars trying to gain points off each other, but it was Stephens who managed to win the Gold Star by three points from Bell.

Julian Fack's head gasket failed at the end of the trial but he managed to secure third place from reigning British champion Thomas Bricknell. Top Northern Ireland competitor was Simon Gracey who drove superbly defying his lack of experience to finish fifth overall. Outgoing Gold Star champion John Fack finished in twelfth position struggling to live with the high revving Honda engines that filled the top eleven places.

Double South West champion Josh Veale finished seventh overall and top live axle, beating his father by three points.

The Silver Star saw an equally close contest between Pat Henson, Jason Daniel and Arthur Carroll. Henson took an early lead and after two rounds was twelve points up, but a couple of mistakes let Daniel and Carroll close within three points finishing in this order. Having previously finished runner up in the Silver Star three years ago having run out of fuel on the last hill Henson was pleased to finally win the title. Daniel's was hoping to win the Silver Star on his birthday, but had to be content with second overall.

1 Duncan Stephens/James Tancock, Crossle 48points
2 Ian Bell/Russ Sharp, Hamilton,51points
3 Julian Fack/Meg Marrion, Crossle, 58points
4 Tom Bricknell/Sara Dyer, Crossle, 60points
5 Simon Gracey/Alan Flack, Crossle, 62points
6 Roland Uglow/Laura Wilks, Crossle, 72points
7 Josh Veale/James Washer, Sherpa, 73points
8 Ian Veale/Beth Carroll, Sherpa IRS, 76points
9 Andrew Bell/Eric Hamilton, Hamilton, 80points
10 Peter McKinney/John McKinney, Crossle, 83points

1 Pat Henson/Stuart Hancey, Facksimile, 120points
2 Jason Daniel/Richard Bolt, Concord, 123points
3 Arthur Carroll/Rebecca Lodge, Sherpa, 125points
4 Lindsay Burke/David Hamilton, Hamilton, 137points
5 Paul Price/Kate Kirk, CAP, 142points


Event Images

Event Details

Saturday 12th January will see the 2012 BTRDA Gold and Silver Star Championship final at Trecarne Farm, Delabole, PL33 9DG starting at 10am and will see over forty competitors do battle for the coveted trophies. 
This is the biggest sporting trial of the year where competitors from England need to have qualified during the year, and five visitors from Northern Ireland.
Current British champion Tom Bricknell is favourite to do the double in conditions that are likely to suit his subtle trickling style having won five trials during 2012. Multiple past British champion (and 2011) Ian Bell is fired up once again to try and win the BTRDA Gold Star for the first time, having won six trials during the year and has had another fresh engine built having suffered with reliability issues during the year. Third in the MSA championship also sees Roland Uglow competing at home, and is also high on the list of likely winners. All the podium finishers in the MSA championship are yet to win the Gold Star. Reigning Northern Ireland champion Peter McKinney, who now lives in England having changed jobs during the summer will use his car for the first time in months but will soon be frame to win having secured the 2009 BTRDA title in the passenger seat.
Reigning BTRDA champion John Fack could spring a surprise and become the first person to retain the title since 1993 having excelled at similar trials. Calvin Kneebone was the last person to retain the title back in 1993 and will return to the venue that he has won so frequently at with fellow Cornishman Roger Bricknell.
The Silver Star favourite is Jason Daniel having qualified from just four events and finished in the top five on three occassions. Daniel knows the venue well living locally but will face opposition from numerous people.
The awards and dinner dance afterwards will be held at St Mellion International Resort. Jess Fack is organising this and ticket applications must be with her by the 1st January – see seperate news item. 


Latest News

  • 26th August 2020

    Sporting Trials Update

  • 16th May 2020

    The Clear Round E-Newsletter



© 2020 BTRDA® Ltd. The Barn, Holly Berry House, Rough Park, Rugeley, WS15 3SQ. Registered in England & Wales No. 4185808. VAT number: 834 8460 11