13th May 2018

Wolverhampton & South Staffs Car Club

Event Report

Bobbington Airfield near Wolverhampton was the venue for the 4th round of the BTRDA Autotest Championship on Sunday. Held in glorious sunshine, just 2 tests were laid out, each to be attempted 6 times by the 23 competitors. With no mistakes by the top runners on the first three tests, Dave Mosey (Mini Special) took an immediate lead, with Dave Evans (Blitz Special) and Malcolm Livingston (Lindsay Special) in close attendance. Chris Chapman (Striker) lead the sports cars from John Moffatt (Westfield) who had collected a 5 second penalty. Richard Pinkney was an early retirement when his Caterham 7 refused to run cleanly despite all efforts to find a cure.
The lunchtime leader board showed little change, with John Moffatt regaining the sports car lead after Chris Chapman collected a 5 second penalty on the 4th test. Warren Gillespie (Nova 1600) was leading the saloon car class despite having to change a driveshaft early in the day, and Mike Biss (Mazda MX5) was in complete command of the road going class.
The 6 afternoon tests saw the leaders go through penalty free, and the only change coming in the sports car class where John Moffatt lost the class lead to Chris Chapman on the very last test when the throttle cable snapped.
1st Dave Mosey Mini Special 1430 554.5 secs
2nd Dave Evans Blitz Special 2000 563.0
3rd Malcolm Livingston Lindsay Special 566.0
4th Chris Chapman Striker 1700 590.1
5th John Moffatt Westfield 1800 595.8

Event Details

Results for the 4th Round of the BTRDA Autotest Championship are now available.



Latest News

  • 9th April 2020

    Dick Squire

  • 10th March 2020

    2020 BTRDA Autotest Championship



© 2020 BTRDA® Ltd. The Barn, Holly Berry House, Rough Park, Rugeley, WS15 3SQ. Registered in England & Wales No. 4185808. VAT number: 834 8460 11