11th March 2018

Hagley & District Light Car Club

Event Report

Report by Mike Sones on Round 1 the Jon MacKenzie Autotest organised by Hagley and District LCC

11th March 2018


A dry, cold day greeted the 26 competitors at Curborough Sprint Course for the Jon MacKenzie Autotest, the first round of the 2018 BTRDA Autotest Championship. Four tests were laid out round the circuit, all to be attempted four times, and it was Malcolm Livingston (Lindsay Special) who continued as he finished last year by taking the lead after four tests, despite picking up a five second penalty on the third test, from 2016 champion Alastair Moffatt (Mini Special 1430) and 2017 champion Richard Pinkney (Caterham 7 1600). John Moffatt (Westfield 1800) was just five seconds behind Pinkney, with Dave Mosey’s Mini 1430 a further four seconds back.

The lunchtime scoreboard, after six tests, showed Livingston having a 3 second lead over Moffatt, with Pinkney now 7 seconds further behind. Mosey had overturned his four second deficit to a five second lead over John Moffatt, but was still 12 seconds behind Pinkney. Two significant retirements before lunch were Chris Chapman (Striker 1700) and Warren Gillespie (Nova 1600) who both suffered terminally broken gearboxes, Chapman on the very first test, Gillespie on the fifth test whilst leading the class.

The eight afternoon tests saw John Moffatt pick up a five second penalty, but the other top four drivers kept clean sheets to the finish of the event, only Mosey being delayed with temporary brake failure, found to be caused by a collapsed wheel bearing. Livingston held on to beat Moffatt by two seconds, with Pinkney a further nine seconds back. Mosey held a comfortable fourth over John Moffatt fifteen seconds behind in fifth place.



1st          Malcolm Livingston         Lindsay Special  1600                       889.1 secs

2nd        Alastair Moffatt                Mini Special 1430                              900.5

3rd         Richard Pinkney                Caterham 7  1600                             903.8

4th         Dave Mosey                       Mini 1430                                             927.2

5th           John Moffatt                     Westfield 1800                                  942.7


Event Details

Results for the 1st Round of the BTRDA Autotest Championship can now be downloaded.



Latest News

  • 9th April 2020

    Dick Squire

  • 10th March 2020

    2020 BTRDA Autotest Championship



© 2020 BTRDA® Ltd. The Barn, Holly Berry House, Rough Park, Rugeley, WS15 3SQ. Registered in England & Wales No. 4185808. VAT number: 834 8460 11