BTRDA® Gold Star® Champions

BTRDA® Rd 5 Race Report

Added: 14th June 2010

The battle in the SuperModified field was between Lance Foster’s (Sunderland) Mini and the Vauxhall Astra of Gary Dixon (Lincoln). The two traded fastest times in the heats, Foster taking pole for the A final with fastest times in the first and third heats while Dixon topped the order in the second. The front row qualifiers were completed by Jonny Bean (Northallerton).

There was a B final here and the race produced a clear win for Neil wade who moved up to the A final where he ran in eighth place.
Foster led the A final but was passed in the second lap by Dixon. The two remained closely matched, Foster hounding Dixon all the way to the chequer but with the race leader always holding just enough of an advantage to stay ahead of Foster. Shelley Wakeling (Braintree) moved ahead of Bean early in the race and remained third until the chequer, Kenny Hall (Jedburgh) close to Bean and Wakeling and ahead of Dave Baines (Tarporley) and Richard Moore.

SuperModified 1  Gary Dixon (Vauxhall Astra F GTE) 3m19.061s; 2 Lance Foster (Mini) +0.65s; 3 Shelley Wakeling (Honda Civic Type R); 4 Jonny Bean (BWM 325 E30); 5 Kenny Hall (Renault Clio II RS); 6 Dave Baines (Peugeot 306 S16); 7 Richard Moore (Ford Fiesta III rwd); 8 Neil Wade (‘BMW’ Mini).

Stock Hatch
Double event winner Adam Clark (Leeds) had a new rival in this fifth round of the clubmans championship as Martin Peters (Yarm) joined the series. Clark took pole for the A final with fastest times in the first and third heats, but Peters topped the second heat and qualified second with former champion Steve Heppenstall (Settle) completing the front row of the grid.

The B final was won by Darren Wilcox who led home Ben Swan and Chris Harper to make his way to the A final. Out of luck were John Rook and James Knight-Coney, both failing to finish.
Peters got the drop on Clark at the start of the A final and led all the way to the finish, Clark following him like a shadow and doing enough with his second place finish to take the lead of the championship on a day when his leading rivals all faltered. Ben Cree was locked in combat with Heppenstall throughout the A final in which he placed third. Wilcox made good progress from the back of the grid, passing David Martin, Stuart Jackson and David Pearson to reach fifth place.

Stock Hatch 1 Martin Peters (Citroën Saxo VTR) 3m30.976s; 2 Adam Clark (Citroën Saxo VTS) 1.6s; 3 Ben Cree (Peugeot 205 GTi); 4 Steve Heppenstall (Peugeot 205 GTi); 5 Darren Wilcox (Citroën Saxo VTS); 6 Dave Martin (Peugeot 205 GTi); 7 Stuart Jackson (Citroën Saxo VTS); 8 David Pearson (Peugeot 205 GTi)

The Junior Rallycross field gained a new driver here as Oliver Mellors made his debut. Paige Bellerby continued to set the pace and was fastest in all three qualifying heats, although Mellors had led the way in the third until sliding off the track in the last lap. Bellerby led through the first lap of the final but slid wide herself in the last corner of the first lap and then retired from the race in the fourth lap when the engine in her Mini stopped. Mellors took the lead at the end of the first lap in which he had already passed Todd Crooks, and then drove away to take a clear victory in his first motor sport event.

Junior (all Mini) 1 Oliver Mellors 4m04.026s; 2 Todd Crooks +11.1s; 3 Paige Bellerby three laps.

Ben Clark wrappoed up pole for the A final by setting fastest times in the first two heats, the third heat order topped by George Edwardes who started from the middle of the front row that was completed by Kris Hudson. Mark Griffin and Keifer Hudson shared the second row with Kelly Bird having a good run to qualifying sixth for the A final, sharing the third row of the grid with David Bell and Samantha O’Flanagan while Brian wade recovered from a roll in the third qualifying heat to start ninth, alongside Ian Clark on the back of the grid.
Hudson made the early running but Edwardes went ahead and was first to reach the chequered flag. The battle at the front of the field was close and continued until the very end of the race when Griffin slipped past Clark to snatch third place in the last corner.

Minicross 1 George Edwardes 3m34.885s; 2 Kris Hudson + 0.69s; 3 Mark Griffin; 4 Ben Clark; 5 Keifer Hudson; 6 Sammy O’Flanagan; 7 Brian wade; 8 Ian Clark; 9 David Bell; 10 Kelly Bird.